ITSNOTYOUITSME was formed in Harlem, NYC in 2003. Members Grey Mcmurray and Caleb Burhans met while attending the Eastman School of Music in Rochester, NY. They played in various musical settings together while in school, including a large improvising group called Dialects, heavily influenced by ambient, free-jazz and post-rock musics. Grey and Caleb moved to New York soon after and formed itsnotyouitsme as a means of continuing the aesthetic and objectives of Dialects. In order to create a large sound with the new stripped-down instrumentation, they began using looping devices, which play a significant role in performance as well as in the compositional process. Along with their own material, itsnotyouitsme has since performed works by composers ranging from J.S. Bach to Philip Glass.


Albums by Artist

Grey Mcmurray is a guitar player and singer and that has been based in Brooklyn since 2004. Since that time, he has toured the US and europe and performed or recorded with diverse group of musicians including Tyondai Braxton, Shara Worden, Gil-Scott Heron, Chromeo, So Percussion, Nicole Atkins, The BBC Symphony Orchestra, Gabriel Kahane and Arooj Aftab among many others. He is a member of The Wordless Music Orchestra and is a co-leader of the triumphant soul band, Knights On Earth.

Caleb Burhans is a composer, singer, and multi-instrumentalist at the forefront of New York’s new-music scene. In addition to itsnotyouitsme, Caleb is a founding member of Alarm Will Sound and Newspeak and sings in the Trinity Wall Street Choir. Currently in residence at Dickinson College, Caleb holds a degree from the Eastman School of Music where he studied violin, viola, voice and composition. His composition teachers include David Liptak, Bob Morris, Joseph Schwantner and Augusta Read Thomas. Caleb has premiered numerous pieces and has worked closely with composers La Monte Young, Lou Harrison, Philip Glass, Steve Reich, John Adams, Meredith Monk, David Lang, Michael Gordon, Jacob Ter Veldhuis, Poul Ruders, Per Norgard, Roger Reynolds, George Crumb, Brian Ferneyhough, Martin Bresnick, David Liptak, Brad Lubman, Augusta Read Thomas and Bernard Rands. He has been commissioned by various new-music ensembles including the Albany Symphony, Tarab Cello Ensemble, Janus, and Eastman’s Musica Nova Ensemble.

The duo has released four acclaimed albums on New Amsterdam, walled gardens (2008) and fallen monuments (2010), everybody's pain is magnificent (2011), and This I (2013). They have been called “gently mesmerizing” (Time Out New York), and “lush and evocative” (The Very Short List). walled gardens was listed as one of the best CDs of 2008 and regarded as “meltingly beautiful” by the New York Times.